

Leadership Savannah Announces 2013-2014 Class - Bouhan Falligant Attorney Benjamin W. Karpf Selected

The following people have been selected to participate in the 2013-2014 Leadership Savannah program:

Jamal Barrow - United States Air Force; John Bennett - Savannah Bicycle Campaign; Mark Bennett - Gulfstream; Kate Blair - Wells Fargo Insurance Services; Karen Bogans - International Paper; Tommy Branch - Callaway, Braun, Riddle & Hughes, P.C.; Toby Browne - The Savannah Bank; Eric Bull - Spine and Sport; Ricky Byrd - Elkins Constructors, Inc.; Todd Cellini - South University; Patrick Connell - Ellis, Painter, Ratterree and Adams; Carol Coppola - SunTrust Bank; Kerry Coursey - Savannah Chatham County Public Schools; Daniel Crook - HunterMaclean; Beth Desloges - Susan G. Komen Coastal Georgia; Emily Dickinson - Wet Willie's Management Corp.; Megan Duffy - City of Savannah, Georgia; Patton Dugas - The Coastal Bank; Catherine Edwards - Skidaway Institute of Oceanography; Troy Follak - Gulfstream Aerospace Corporaton; John Giordano - Thomas & Hutton Engineering; John Harper - US District Court for the Southern District of Georgia; Tom Hartridge - Willis; Amy Henderson - Bart Meyer & Company LLP; Brandt Herndon -SEDA; Tina Hinson - Savannah Area Chamber of Commerce; Robert Howard - Armstrong Atlantic State University; Dani Ibarra - Beckmann - Savannah College of Art and Design; Wanda Jackson - USG Savannah State University; Benjamin Karpf - Bouhan Falligant, LLP; Gina Kreiss - North Point Hospitality Group; Ryan Martin - Sea Island Bank a division of Synovus Bank; Alfred McGuire - Savannah Chatham County Public Schools; Brian Mitchell - Georgia Power Company; Sheron Morgan - City of Savannah; Jessica Pedigo - Seacrest Partners, Inc.; Michael Poulios - H+K Engineering Group; Mark Revenew - City of Pooler; Nancy Reyes - Savannah Morning News/savannahnow.com; Lizann Roberts - Lizann Roberts Consulting; Andrew Smith - R.B. Baker Construction; Ernie Tafoya - US Army, Hunter Army Airfield; Cody Tharpe - Tharpe Structural Design Group; Jessica Thomas - Memorial Health Anderson Cancer Center; Tripp Turner - J.T. Turner Construction; Tony Uhrich - Hussey Gay Bell & DeYoung, Consulting Engineers; Randall Webb - Deemer Dana & Froehle LLP; Jenny Woodruff - Savannah Music Festival; Bea Wray - The Creative Coast; Paul Yarborough - Georgia Ports Authority.

These leaders and potential leaders are chosen because they are active in business, education, the arts, religion, government, community-based organizations and ethnic and minority groups, which reflects the diversity of the community. The program is a one-year commitment, which focuses on developing the leadership skills of the group to improve the community.

By the end of the year, the participants should have:

- A better understanding of themselves and their individual leadership styles;
 Improved leaderships skills;
- A deeper knowledge of the Savannah community and how it fits in the regional, state, national and global economy;
- Identified the major challenges facing Savannah;
- Built relationships with other class members and existing community leaders;
- Used their leadership skills to provide service to Step Up, Savannah's Anti-poverty Initiative (www.stepupsavannah.org) or another community challenge;
- Developed a deep commitment to making the Savannah community a better place to live and work.

The programs consist of monthly interactive sessions led by top community experts within their fields. For the 2013 – 2014 Leadership Savannah class, sessions begin in September 2013 and conclude in June 2014 with graduation. In 2013, Leadership Savannah graduated 46 people at a ceremony held in June for the 2012-2013 class.

###

The Savannah Area Chamber of Commerce is a business organization managed by a volunteer board of directors. The Chamber encompasses Visit Savannah, Ambassadors Council, the CEO Council, Communities in Schools, Drug-Free Workplace, Savannah Sports Council, Governmental Affairs Council, Leadership Savannah, Legends of Golf, Manufacturers and Distributors Council, Military Affairs Council, Owner's Council,